Photo by Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

Deaths and the Mystery of Dying

How it can be so sudden.

--

When you’re young you see people getting married, you are invited to weddings, bridal showers, etc. Then you get baby announcements in whatever form they may come. You are invited to baby showers and then later you come by to see the new baby. Everything is new when you’re young. I have had friends tell me that they had gone to a lot of weddings when they were young. They were either guests of the bride or guests of the groom, or bridesmaids or groomsmen. All of this for some turned into a reason to get very drunk and set the world on fire.

Life goes on and more people get married, you’re invited again, but now you are also invited to birthday parties for the kids that were born the previous year or so. And this continues for a good many years, which is great. It is society building. People are thriving and growing like a new plant, like new flowers, and life springs eternal.

Those kids grow into adults and the cycle starts all over again.

Luckily, you won’t have any friends or family die before you turn fifty or so. My losses came early in life. When I was ten my Dad died from a stroke. This was a very strange experience for my family. When I was forty-five or so my mother died of a heart attack after just having surgery for colon cancer.

--

--

Jo Ann Harris, Writer of Daily Musings

Writing on Medium since 2018. Writer for Illumination, About Me, and others, I write on a myriad of subjects with you in mind